Georgia Southern University

Omicron Delta Kappa induction ceremony set for Nov. 12

The Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) Leadership Honor Society at Georgia Southern University will induct 110 new members on Sunday, Nov. 12.

University alumnus Darryl Hopkins (Class of 1992) will be the keynote speaker at the seventh annual induction ceremony, which will be held at 2 p.m. in the College of Information Technology Building auditorium.

Induction into OKD is the highest leadership honor awarded to undergraduate juniors and seniors; graduate students; faculty, staff, administration and alumni; and people who qualify for membership ‘honoris causa.”

Students candidates must rank in the top 35 percent of their class, have a grade point average of 3.0 or higher, and show leadership in at least one of five areas: scholarship; athletics; campus or community service; social and religious activities and campus government; journalism, speech and mass media; and creative and performing arts.

The ODK Circle at Georgia Southern received several national and regional honors in 2006. It was one of only eight circles in the entire country to receive the Superior Circle Award for outstanding service to the community and outstanding leadership within the society.

Theresa Beebe Novotny received the Robert W. Bishop National Faculty Advisor of the Year Award and Barbara Price was named Faculty Secretary of the Year for Province VII.

In addition, Kristen Barnard was one of 40 students from around the country who were selected to attend the ‘Campus Leaders Today, Community Leaders Tomorrow” workshop held in New York during the summer.

The ODK Circle at Georgia Southern will induct seven outstanding leaders who have made significant contributions to the community and to the University. Hopkins, who is the athletic superintendent for the Statesboro-Bulloch County Parks and Recreation Department, will be inducted as a University alumnus.

The faculty and staff inductees are: Olivia Carr Edenfield, the associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (CLASS); Kathleen Gruben, an associate professor in the College of Business Administration; Alice Hall, an associate professor in the College of Health and Human Sciences; Georj Lewis, the dean of students; Ben Thompson, an associate professor in the College of Business Administration; and Sharon Tracy, a professor in CLASS.

The 24 graduate student inductees are: Kelley Gonnella Chester, Linda R. Clarkson, Susan Lee Harmon, Marquita T. Holmes, Mitch Jones, Thomas Duane Kelley, Shannon Muller Knight, Kendria Monique Lee, Peter N. Mastopoulos, Rebecca Shurley Noel, Hope Anne Jordan Oliver, Philip Edward Patisaul, Tifani Landing Pool, Christina M. Rapp, Rebecca Anne Rule , Meryem Sebnem Sevinc, Lacey Marie Sorenson, Lisa Christine Spence, Adrien Charmaine Stallings, Janine Michelle Weaver-Douglas, Allison Kristina Yancey, and Jin Jennifer Zhang.

The 28 senior inductees are: Ansley A. Booker, Bridget Caroline Bowman, Christopher D’neil Brown, Angela Sherrell Byrd, Jennifer Nicole Cook, Brittany D. Evans, Amber L. Fennell, Amanda Michelle Fischer, Otto Antonio Graham, Taramis M. High, Jaycie Holland , Serrenyun Nicole Hopkins, Kylie Lynn Isaacs, Lynsey Amanda Johnson, Joanna Eileen Kimes , Mikko Juhani Lindberg, Jennifer Lyn Miller, Monica Rachael O’Connor, Chukwuemeka Samuel Ohuabunwa, Tamia Yvette Powell, Lorraine Elizabeth Rath, Jacqueline Alaina Rieger, Pamela Rivera, Stephanie Olivia Samuels, Kathryn Elizabeth Sharbrough, Tiffany Nadine Cadogan, Daphne Lelora Tobin, Meagan Lynn Van Buren, Jamie Brooke Ward, and Jeremiah Adam Wilson.

The 51 junior inductees are: Hauwa Daniwa Balami, Brittiny Dawn Barber, Jacquelyn Scott Beckman, Donny Alan Benton, Danielle Elizabeth Binion, Josie Lynn Blankenship, Sheridan Michelle Bushey, Brooke Ann Carpenter, Donald Peitro Chapman, Jordan Barrett Chester, Shannon Larissa Cox, Charity Echols, Stephanie Lynne Findley, Emanuel C. Fuller, Blaine Jacob Geiger, Lakisha Gray, Anna Elisabeth Henson, Keyonda Johnson, Frenchi Nichol Jones, Kelly Elyse Jones, Brandon Keenan, Bryan Glenn Keenan, Aaronly Denise Lackey, Kimberly Michelle Lee, Anna Colette Lipsey, Rachelle S. Lipshy, Joseph Wilmar Lumansoc, Jessika Brandi Massengale, Jessica Miles, Vincent Alexander Nicholson, Jemelleh Rebecca Nurse, Martin Obiajulu, Shannon Marie O’Sullivan, Ashlee Dominic Perry, Katherine Kendall Perry, Brian James Prevatt, Sarah Elizabeth Prochaska, Tianna Lenae Ross, Breanna Pauline Rotell, Megan Beth Russell, Ali Sabzevari, Kathryn Joan Secrist, Stephen Michael Smith, Jessica Suarez, Laura Ann Turner, April Elizabeth Ulm, Jennifer Lauren Williamson, and Emilie Beth Wilson.

For more information on the ODK Circle at Georgia Southern, contact Price at (912) 681-5775 or Novotny at (912) 681-5415.

Share this:
Office of Marketing & Communications • PO Box 8055, Statesboro, GA 30460 • (912) 478-6397 •