Georgia Southern University

Georgia Southern University Salutes Outstanding Faculty

eagleheadGeorgia Southern University recently recognized its 2010-11 Awards for Excellence honorees with the presentation of a unique medallion. Established in 1985, Georgia Southern’s Awards for Excellence program was created for two purposes: to recognize and reward faculty for exceptional achievements and to provide opportunities for faculty development. The awards are distributed in three categories: research/creative scholarly activity, service and instruction.

The Award for Excellence in Service is designed to recognize and reward faculty who use their academic discipline to provide non-compensated assistance to the region, as well as to the academic community. Faculty members Dr. Nirmal K. Das, associate professor of civil engineering technology and Dr. Jerri Kropp, associate professor of child and family development received this honor.

The Award for Excellence in Research/Creative Scholarly Activity recognizes faculty who excel in their research efforts in addition to fulfilling regular full time teaching responsibilities. Dr. Samuel Todd, associate professor of sports management, as well as associate professor of biology Dr. Christopher Cutler were presented with this award.

The Award for Excellence in Instruction is not an award for the best professor or the most popular professor, but an effort to honor contributions to the teaching/learning process at the institutional level. Recipients have demonstrated excellence in the classroom and beyond. This year’s honorees are Dr. Christine Ludowise, associate professor of political science and acting associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, and Dr. Michael Reksulak, associate professor of economics.

Each of the recipients was nominated by their colleagues or students and is selected through a peer review process by the following standing committees of the Faculty Senate: the Faculty Research Committee, the Faculty Development Committee, and the Faculty Service Committee. Since 1985, more than 150 faculty members have been recognized through this program of excellence.

Share this:
Office of Marketing & Communications • PO Box 8055, Statesboro, GA 30460 • (912) 478-6397 •