Skip to main content

College of Education hosts first doctoral reunion, recognizes inaugural cohorts

Brenda Shuman-Riley, Ed.D.; Cynthia LoMonaco, Ed.D.; Genie Fulcher, Ed.D.; Paul “Mac” Brinson, Ed.D.; Linda Wright, Ed.D.; Jody Woodrum, Ed.D.; Lynn Futch, Ed.D.

On Saturday, July 15, alumni of the College of Education’s (COE) doctoral programs reunited with a special recognition for the inaugural cohorts of the Ed.D. in Educational Administration (now Educational Leadership) and Ed.D. in Curriculum Studies programs.

Seven of the original 16 students first accepted into the COE’s doctoral programs were in attendance including: Paul “Mac” Brinson, Ed.D.; Genie Fulcher, Ed.D; Lynn Futch, Ed.D.; Cynthia LoMonaco, Ed.D.; Brenda Shuman-Riley, Ed.D.; Jody Woodrum, Ed.D.; and Linda Wright, Ed.D.

College Dean Thomas Koballa, Ph.D., recognized the members of the inaugural cohorts individually, and presented each with a glass memento.

“The exceptionality of the students in the inaugural cohorts and those that followed them, along with the impact of their collective research does, in fact, make the College a recognized unit of Georgia Southern University in the state of Georgia and across the country,” said Koballa. “Members of the inaugural doctoral cohorts have so much to be proud of, and we have much to thank them for. Without them, Georgia Southern would not be the doctoral, research university that it is today.”

Distinguished guests also recognized for their role in the development and creation of the Ed.D. programs included the University’s 10th President Nick Henry, Ph.D.; former COE Dean and Professor Emerita Cindi Chance, Ph.D.; and former Department Chair and Professor Emerita of Curriculum, Foundations and Reading Revered Jane Page, Ed.D.

Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Diana Cone, Ph.D., opened the recognition ceremony. Additionally, University President Jaimie Hebert, Ph.D., as well as Cordelia Zinskie, professor and former chair of the Department of Curriculum, Foundations and Reading; Koballa; and Lynn Futch, Ed.D., inaugural cohort member, all spoke during the ceremony to add their memories and appreciation for the doctoral programs.

“It was a day of celebration,” said Futch. “We are thankful to the University for providing a cohort model for these programs, as it provided us an opportunity to bond and make lifelong friends.”

Members of the inaugural cohorts who were unable to attend included: Troy Davis, Ed.D.; Rebecca Kelleher, Ed.D.; William Lacefield, Ed.D.; Linda McQuiag, Ed.D.; Enola Mosley, Ed.D.; Cheryl Reynolds, Ed.D; Mary Smith, Ed.D.; Robert Edward “Sonny” Waller, Ed.D.; and Kristen Young-Curran, Ed.D.

For more information on COE, visit

Georgia Southern University, a public Carnegie Doctoral/Research University founded in 1906, offers 118 degree programs serving 20,673 students. Through eight colleges, the University offers bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degree programs built on more than a century of academic achievement. Georgia Southern is recognized for its student-centered and hands-on approach to education. Visit


Posted in Press Releases